Author

The Eyes Of A Fetch (Excerpt 355) Fool Again

“Duff plays games with people, Lyla. Don’t you remember?” Marcus lowers his voice and becomes calm. “No one is safe around that guy or the goons he employs. I just watched it happen. His right hand man Quinn was on the phone with him when Destry and I left. If Duff gave a flying leap about anyone he would not have let Quinn restrict the family from gathering what is rightfully theirs.” Marcus walks over to Lyla and gives her a hug.

“I don’t want you to get hurt.” Says Marcus softly. They hold each other in the foyer for quite some time before either one says another word. Lyla speaks first. “Listen, you should go home, relax and get some sleep. I’ll pop in tomorrow and we can discuss things when you’re not so worked up.” She says in a tranquil tone. “I think we both have things to share and maybe when we’re not so exhausted everything will make more sense.”

“You should stay with me. I don’t like the thought of you being here alone, especially if he is back. Damn, I brought Destry here so she wouldn’t have to endure being around anyone from Duff Industries and here we are, in the middle of the lair.” Marcus stops and looks toward the back door. “And right now she is alone and your buddy Duff sure did want to leave quickly! I’ve got to go!” says Marcus hastily.

“Marcus, he has no reason to go after her.” Yells Lyla as Marcus runs out the back door. “At least I don’t think he does.” She mumbles, as she stands in the house, alone, and in the dark. A shiver goes through her. “Has this all been a well planned ploy and I’m the fool again?”

Excerpt 355

To read this story in its entirety CLICK HERE to visit Amazon.com
Copyright © 2013 All rights reserved.

Leave a Reply

