Author

Shadows Of Guta (Excerpt 48) Tempted

“You don’t need to be nervous around me, I’m practically family.” Zsofia smiles as she leans the broom up against the wall. “My grandfather and your grandfather were best friends, they grew up together. I know as much about your family as I know about my own.” Again, she smiles and her calming nature relaxes him a bit. “No pressure, Stephen. I’m just here doing my work.”

“What exactly is that?” Stephen says as he starts down the staircase. “What are you doing here? I thought this place was locked up and no one ever entered it.”

“Yes, you are partly right.” She pulls the white cloth out of her pocket and starts dusting off a small table. “In my early teens I wanted to make some spending money and your great-uncle said he would pay me to do light dusting and cleaning here.” She shakes the cloth out. “He only let me work here, on the ground floor. I wasn’t allowed upstairs or down in the basement or in any other area.” She continues as she sets a small vase back on the table.

“So you never ventured into any other area of the house except these few rooms?” Stephen questions as he sits down on the fourth step from the bottom. “Seriously, you were never tempted?”

Ex48

2 responses

  1. Wishing you and yours a joyous season.

    December 13, 2014 at 1:17 pm

    • Thank you so very much! I wish the best, to you and yours as well, for a safe and happy holiday season. 🙂

      December 13, 2014 at 6:19 pm

Leave a Reply

