Author

Shadows Of Guta (Excerpt 170) Just Like You

Stephen stands there looking at Zsofia as her eyes fill with tears. He does not want her to feel bad and in no way does he want to make her cry but he is unsure of how to respond. As Zsofia starts to turn away and wipe the tears from her eyes, he reaches out and touches her arm.

“It’s okay, Zsofia. I don’t want you to feel bad, hell I don’t even remember anything about the woman, let alone have any feelings for her loss.” Stephen states honestly but he realizes how cold that must sound. “No, I don’t mean it like that.” He says quickly as Zsofia turns back around to face him.

He expects her to have a look of shock on her face at how heartless he must appear to her right now. To his surprise though, she is almost smiling, as she looks him in the eyes.

“Look at us, standing here apologizing about things we’ve said.” She glances down the hall somewhat relieved by Stephen’s statement as she tries to lighten the conversation. “I am sorry I brought it up but I want you to know I don’t think anything bad about your statement. I’m just like you; I never met my grandmother and completely understand where you are coming from.” She reaches out and holds his hand. “Let’s go to the fourth floor, I hear it’s all open, like a huge porch and the view is supposed to be breathtaking.”

Ex170

Copyright © 2014 All rights reserved.
To read StorySmitten ebooks in their entirety CLICK HERE to visit Amazon.com

2 responses

  1. The instalment idea is a good one!

    February 18, 2015 at 10:44 am

Leave a Reply

