Author

Shadows Of Guta (Excerpt 498) Are We Safe

“I knew the demon was loose in this dwelling, your great-uncle didn’t just die on his own, we all know that. I knew what he was up to, I knew what he was doing, and I could see his greed each time he walked past my shop!” With a frown, Klara turns and looks at Laszlo.

“So, how would my giving you the manor change anything?” Stephen questions as he dabs his fingers on the wound at the back of his neck.

“Dear boy, your grandmother promised the evil being safe passage here. She is the one that granted the manor to the beast. She had enough arrogance to believe she was smarter than a creature of all times past and from worlds before her.” Klara states in a mocking manner. “She thought her plan was foolproof.” She shakes her head and laughs. “Foolish and selfish, that is what she was.” She pauses. “I felt if I could gain control here, I would somehow keep it from harming others.”

Stephen looks at Laszlo for a reaction to the negative words about the old man’s first love, but he simply sits quietly gazing into the low flames of the fireplace. Tamas is still staring out at the hallway as Zsofia attempts to distract him by turning him toward the sofa. Stephen knows what holds Tamas’ interest for in the beginning, he is sure his reaction was much the same.

“Are we safe here?” Stephen asks in a blunt way. “I need to know, not just for me, but for all of us.” He looks at Zsofia and when she catches his glance, the corner of her mouth raises slightly as if holding back a grin.

Ex498

Copyright © 2014 All rights reserved.
To read StorySmitten ebooks in their entirety:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon.com or
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com

Leave a Reply

