Author

Shadows Of Guta (Excerpt 597) Wondering

Slowing his pace, Stephen steps up next to the open door but refrains from touching the handle at first. The heavy darkness behind the frame seems to be peering out at him as he reaches up to push the door closed. It is at this time, with his hand extended, as he gets closer to the doorway to the basement, he hears a faint, yet familiar low raspy laugh.

Stephen pauses for a moment, wondering if what he just heard actually happened. He thinks to himself, “Am I simply remembering the sordid past due to the events that happened in the basement?” With the door slightly cracked open, he wonders if the scent of the moist earthen floor merely triggered a memory.

Very gently, in a slow fluid motion with his foot, he pushes the door shut until it clicks. For several minutes, he stares at the frame and wood with its thick inlaid iron design and heavy bolted hinges. He salts the other half of the egg he has already taken a bite out of, plops it into his mouth and chews it up as he watches the handle of the door for movement.

Standing there for several more minutes, thinking and wondering what it is he heard coming from the basement steps, Stephen slowly salts the remaining egg. He then tips the shaker onto its side, loosens the lid, and empties the entire contents in a line at the base of the basement door. Pulling his ring of keys out of his pocket, he inserts the old ornate key into the door, turning it until he hears the lock click. Without pausing any further, he quietly continues down the hall to his study.

~The End

Ex597

To Dance With A Fetch and
The Eyes Of A Fetch
Now available in paperback!

Copyright © 2012 All rights reserved.
StorySmitten Paperbacks and ebooks are available at:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon USA
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon Europe
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com
CLICK HERE to visit WiseGreyOwl.co.uk

20 responses

  1. What to say? ⭐
    It’s always hard when a book is finished. You have a marvelous imagination. Congratulations on this book & that To Dance With A Fetch and
    The Eyes Of A Fetch are out in paperback! ⭐
    I hope you are writing a new story! ⭐

    November 29, 2015 at 3:26 pm

    • Thank you for your bright and cheery notes and for being an avid follower, who I think of as a friend.:D Yes, I am currently working on another book but it is nowhere near completion. It should be ready after the new year closer to spring. Resa, I wish for you a very happy holiday season.

      November 29, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      • Wishing all the best for you, too, & am excited about your new book!
        Wish I had your … strength! My writing blog is a a side line.. an also ran, while yours is right out there.
        Nonetheless, I inch along!
        https://queensend.wordpress.com/

        November 29, 2015 at 6:12 pm

      • Hey, thanks for the link! I did not realize you started a writing blog, that is exciting! I only knew about your design site, which is amazing BTW! Thank you so much and have a terrific week. 😉

        November 30, 2015 at 6:22 am

  2. My writing blog grows! My I reblog a post from your site?

    December 19, 2015 at 6:12 pm

    • Absolutely, Resa! Thank you 🙂

      December 21, 2015 at 6:21 am

      • Okay! I just reblogged a poem, so I will post something I wrote next, then reblog.
        This is good, as I need to figure the best post of yours to reblog.
        May I ask what book you love the best… or want to promote the most?

        December 21, 2015 at 3:49 pm

      • Merry Christmas, Resa! Thanks for the promo too! My favorite is my second, The Eyes Of A Fetch. I think Crispin is one interesting irishman and I wish hollywood would bring him to life. My story and characters dressed in your clothing designs? Magical. 😀 Have a lovely weekend dear friend!

        December 26, 2015 at 8:14 am

      • Sounds great! I will reblog something from Eyes of a Fetch! Crispin would be great brought to life! There are a few sexy Irish actors out there!

        December 26, 2015 at 12:13 pm

  3. Have a wonderful and peaceful Holy Night – Merry Christmas to you and your family,

    December 24, 2015 at 8:19 am

    • Merry Christmas to you and yours, Maxima! I hope the day was fabulous and this weekend wonderful. I love your blog and know you will bring us all into 2016 beautifully.

      December 26, 2015 at 8:16 am

  4. Thank You for visiting and liking my Deep red still life!!! Have a happy new year!!! 🙂 * Cynthia

    December 30, 2015 at 5:19 am

    • It is always a pleasure to visit your blog. 😀 Happy sparkling New Year to you!

      December 30, 2015 at 5:50 am

  5. Best wishes for a Happy & Healthy New Year my friend and I look forward to another blogging year with you! With love Maxima

    December 30, 2015 at 4:21 pm

  6. I would like to congratulate you on this very calm ending after all the excitement you created in the middle and near the ending, too. You had me when the dark and gloomy murky water scenes had the Guta, the chain and someone needing pulled out. I may skim your posts but I found them gripping and compelling. Your character, Stephen was a great, strong one. That low, raspy laugh was creepy, are you leaving this open for a #2 book? 😉

    January 17, 2016 at 8:03 pm

    • Hello Robin and thank you so much for your kind words. I am currently working on a fourth book of different characters and locations, which I hope to start posting in March. It is always possible that I may revisit one of my stories to continue the saga, so please stay tuned! 😀

      January 18, 2016 at 6:52 am

      • I will look forward to it! How does it feel to have one month of 2016 completed? Hope the writing and editing is going smoothlt! 🙂 Hugs, Robin ♡

        February 1, 2016 at 5:35 am

      • Hey thanks Robin, the book is coming along nicely. However, one month of 2016 over and done with is crazy. Time flies when you’re having fun, right? 😃

        February 2, 2016 at 12:40 pm

  7. I enjoy reading your thoughts. Jal

    March 24, 2016 at 12:26 pm

Leave a Reply

