Author

Doors To Mirrors (Excerpt 36) Loveable

“Oh I am so glad you came to visit!” Nadja says with a smile. “I was beginning to get myself worked up, thinking a prowler might be near.”

Nadja makes this statement as she hides the fact that only one person can make her feel this way and that would be her ex-boyfriend. Somehow, she believes Carl is already privy to her fears but neither one states this nor does it become the topic of conversation.

“I knew from your message you were coming up, so I wanted to check and make sure all is well.” Carl says as he glances at a photograph of Josephine, which happens to be hanging on the wall in front of him. “I knew this would be hard on you, you know, coming here and being alone.” He looks down at his large hands.

“Yes, it seems very strange, but I feel her all around me.” Nadja says of her dear Aunt and Carl nodes his head yes as he continues to stare down.

“Me too, everyday in every way.” He looks at Nadja and smiles, then his expression changes. “Oh! I almost forgot.” Carl reaches into the deep pocket of his jacket and pulls out a medium-sized square paper box. “I brought you a cinnamon roll from Pattie Cakes bakery. Still your favorite, right?” He questions.

“Oh absolutely!” Nadja grins as she takes the item in her hands then gives this big loveable man a hug. “You’ve made me feel so much better, thank you Carl. Thank you very much!”

“Well it’s the least I can do to warm the world up for you. Remember I am only a phone call away, or an hour on foot, okay?” He says happily.

Ex 36

Copyright © 2012-2016 All rights reserved
StorySmitten Paperbacks and ebooks are available at:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon USA
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon Europe
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com
CLICK HERE to visit WiseGreyOwl.co.uk

One response

  1. Carl is thoughtful AND bring fresh cinnamon buns?!

    He is the best.

    August 14, 2016 at 12:02 pm

Leave a Reply

