Author

Doors To Mirrors (Excerpt 110) Turbulence

Nadja’s biggest fear is that Carl may get hurt. Yes, he is a big man and very strong for his age, but Aaron, he is a monster and when enraged, can tear a man apart. If Carl believes someone broke into the cottage, he will go after them and she cannot allow him to be hurt. Aunt Josephine would never forgive her. As she thinks about her aunt, she smiles.

“I can take the tunnel that Carl showed me so if Aaron is out there or has someone watching, it will not be obvious I am leaving. I need to call Carl to let him know of my plans.” She says aloud. “No, maybe I shouldn’t, I will wait until he comes into work at the shop and pull him aside. For all I know, Aaron has tapped into my phone. “I know you are here somewhere, looking out for both Carl and me. I can feel you everywhere.” Nadja says in a calm tone. “Please be with me Aunt Josephine, I need your strength.”

It is now that Nadja remembers what she was dreaming as she woke up for the morning. She remembers being in bed and hearing voices coming from the main room of the cottage. One she recognized as her lovely aunt, but the other, she is unsure of.

“I remember knowing I was in a dream, I got out of bed and pulled my robe on.” Nadja mumbles to herself as she walks over to the doorway of her bedroom reenacting what she remembers. “I looked toward the fireplace and saw Aunt Josephine. She was sitting next to a young man, about my age, but I’ve never seen him before.” Nadja says in a puzzled manner as she continues to look at that area of the room trying to memorize the young man’s features. “Aunt Josephine looked up and smiled, so she was not trying to warn me of anything, she seemed content.”

Heavy turbulence and thick clouds cause the plane to jolt and drop, bouncing the passengers around as it soars through a storm. Viktor has only flown a few times and has never experienced a flight like this. He is glancing at the other individuals around him, a woman and child seem petrified but two men dressed in business suits are as calm as they can be.

“You ever experienced a flight like this before?” Viktor questions to the man sitting next to him.

“Yeah, this is nothing. I was on a plan once where I watched two bolts unscrew themselves from the wing due to the vibrations of the engine.” The man in a dark blue suit says in a nonchalant way as he continues to read his book. “Look at it this way, there is nothing you can do about it so just take it as it is.”

ex-110

Copyright © 2012-2016 All rights reserved
StorySmitten Paperbacks and ebooks are available at:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon USA
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon Europe
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com
CLICK HERE to visit WiseGreyOwl.co.uk

2 responses

  1. Haha! “There’s nothing you can do about it so take it as it is.” That is actually very good advice if you’re on a plane in turbulence.

    November 23, 2016 at 8:07 pm

    • Yes, you are kind of at the mercy of it all. I hope your weekend is starting off well. Thank you!

      November 25, 2016 at 4:54 pm

Leave a Reply

