Author

Doors To Mirrors (Excerpt 134) Rethink

“Nadja, we have to rethink your plan to stay here.” Carl announces as he enters the small office of the soap factory. “I just came from the sandwich shop, heavy rain and snow is heading our way which will close down the train for several days. With that goon Aaron here in town, you would be safer up on the mountain.” He sits down on the chair across the desk from her.

“What’s got you grinning from ear to ear?” Carl asks.

“Oh, I follow a few people on a blog that discusses your dreams and try to interpret what they mean.” She replies and then continues. “There is this guy named Viktor who actually helped me out once and has been writing me lately.”

“Oh yeah? Are you blushing?” Carl teases.

“No, I’m not blushing.” Nadja replies but she knows she probably is. “It is odd, we have only been talking for a short while, not even a month, but he has been dreaming about the cottage and the village. Everything down to where the fire logs are placed to the layout of the rooms, you searching the grounds the other night and even the secret passageway.”

“Wait a minute.” Carl interrupts. “Are you sure this isn’t Aaron playing a trick? How could anyone have those details unless they were spying on you? You didn’t even know about the passage until the other day when I showed it to you!” Carl’s voice is raised with concern as it well should be.

“I know, to be honest I felt the same way and I would never have believed it if I didn’t witness it myself.” Nadja replies but Carl looks puzzled. “What I mean is, I actually saw him with Aunt Josephine in a dream I had this morning.” She replies quickly and Carl’s expression changes completely.

“Josie lived by what her dreams showed her.” Carl says softly as he looks down at the sandwiches he bought for lunch. “So where does this guy live?”

“I’m not sure. I know his time zone is ahead of us by three hours.” She replies but then adds, “He says he is coming to help me, that his dreams told him where I live and he is worried that I am in danger, which I suppose is accurate.” She pauses. “I highly doubt he is going to show up on my doorstep anytime soon though.” She laughs.

“Got a photo of him? Do you know what he looks like?” Carl asks in a fatherly tone.

“Actually, yes.” Nadja laughs. “He sent me one earlier today, but with all the activity, I just forgot about it.” She turns her phone so Carl can see the photograph.

“Good looking lad.” Carl says as he inspects the photograph. “So, you said he is coming here, to help protect you from Aaron?” He pulls Nadja’s phone closer for a better look.

“Yes,” Nadja laughs. “I don’t really expect him to find me, he has no idea where I live, I never told him.”

“Well, you might want to rethink that, this picture was taken from the train.” Carl says as he turns the phone around for Nadja to see.

ex-134

Copyright © 2012-2016 All rights reserved
StorySmitten Paperbacks and ebooks are available at:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon USA
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon Europe
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com
CLICK HERE to visit WiseGreyOwl.co.uk

Leave a Reply

