Author

Doors To Mirrors (Excerpt 210) Uncertainty

“Do you plan to stay around the area much longer?” The officer questions Viktor.

“Unfortunately no. I have to fly out tomorrow, I think sometime around noon. I lost my phone and need to check with the bus station too, I can’t remember the time the bus leaves.” Viktor replies. “Why do you ask?”

“I was just curious.” The officer states quietly as the train begins to move. “I was hoping you might know how to handle a gun.”

“I’m sure I can figure it out.” Viktor replies. “I can really kick some ass in video games.” He says in a joking manner to lighten the mood, but the officer simply nods his head and motions for Viktor to go back to his seat.

“Oh, sir?” The officer says quickly. “The bus leaves at eight o’clock tomorrow.”

“Okay, thank you.” Viktor replies.

The clacking of the wheels upon the rails lulls Nadja into the sleeping world. A veil of gray hovers over her as she begins to hear voices echoing in from all around.

“Hello?” She questions as she walks through this strange mist like substance. “Who is there?”

Swirls begin to form in the gray matter yet all things remain concealed to her. She begins to realize this dense fog is a reflection of her current situation. Deception, confusion and uncertainty are all represented here and she feels as if she has lost her direction in life.

“I am interpreting this dream as I’m in it.” She says to herself. “I know I am lost.” She mumbles as she places her hands out in front of her hoping to feel something, anything.

“Oh dear girl, you will find your way.” Says the familiar voice of her aunt. “Close your eyes and let your true senses guide you.” Her tone is sweet and calm. “You have all the control you need my brilliant shining starlight, follow your heart.”

Abruptly she is shaken awake as the train comes to a forceful stop at the village station.

“Are you okay?” Viktor questions as he puts his arm around her.

“Yes, I think.” Nadja replies quickly wondering how badly she jolted awake.

“Okay, we had the building searched and all is clear. My partner and I will take you there now.” The police officer says in a polite manner. “Do you have everything you need?”

“Yes, we should be fine for a day or two.” Nadja looks up at Viktor.

Since the horrific weather that was predicted did not exactly cause the halt to business as expected, the village is bustling with energy under the late afternoon sun. Shoppers are out and about carrying loaded bags, deliveries are being made at the various shops, and the soap factory is no different. As soon as Nadja walks through the back door of the factory, workers greet her with hugs and tears. They made the decision to come in and open the business, and only recently were they told of the events taking place on the mountain.

ex-210

Copyright © 2012-2016 All rights reserved
StorySmitten Paperbacks and ebooks are available at:
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon USA
CLICK HERE to visit Amazon Europe
CLICK HERE to visit Goodreads.com
CLICK HERE to visit WiseGreyOwl.co.uk

Leave a Reply

